spotlicious.blogg.se

Boss katana 50 mk1
Boss katana 50 mk1








  1. BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 MOD
  2. BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 UPGRADE
  3. BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 FULL
  4. BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 SERIES

We have a headphone jack but that disconnects the internal speaker. Lack of a line out is a disappointment on the BOSS Katana 50 (Included on the 100). Even the drives of my BOSS ME-80 are a huge step up, so I can only imagine what the Katana would sound like clean with dedicated pedals. In my opinion, these fall way short of using the CLEAN channel and pedals. I experimented with using the Katana drive channels, drive FX etc.

BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 UPGRADE

The Katana, Blues Cube and now the Nextone series of valve-amp killers’ are however still missing the one product I would upgrade to, and that’s a stripped down clean pedal platform with all the extras taken out, but with upgrades where it really counts, to the construction materials, electronics and speaker.Īll I need is Input, Gain (from clean to mild breakup at the most), Volume, Bass, Middle, Treble, and wouldn’t that be great wrapped up in a 1×12 format pine cabinet with an upmarket Celestion? Come on BOSS what are you waiting for! Have any hidden issues revealed themselves? I’m happy with what the 50 delivers in terms of features, volume and the minuscule amount of stage space required.īOSS is absolutely flying at the moment.

BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 MOD

you can’t use BOOST and MOD separately), so I’d be paying a lot more for a bigger cabinet and extra features I won’t use. But as detailed in the original review, the internal FX + GAFC aren’t flexible enough to fit my requirements anyway (e.g.

BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 SERIES

It’s common knowledge that the bigger BOSS Katana 100 and Artist series offer a deeper, more expansive sound with more features (etc. In the studio, again, the Katana could fall short in the face of more expensive competition, but that’s not what I use it for.Īm I tempted to upgrade to other amps in the BOSS series? For me, it gets the job done, gets me to my sound previously provided with much more expensive and heavier Fenders, Marshalls, Cornfords, Laneys, you name it. It’s true, in an A/B test with valves the Katana may well lose out, but will the audience notice or care? I certainly don’t.

boss katana 50 mk1

When it matters, live at a gig, the BOSS Katana 50 delivers for both volume AND tone. These days I tend to look at tone objectively as it is, rather than A/B it with other amps. Starting crystal clean and gradually adding more gain and grunt to achieve the biggest core sound possible. But as a pedal platform, on the CLEAN channel, which in my opinion is the BOSS Katana’s forte, I’ve continually honed my core tone. I was expecting my ears to get tired of transistors, and yearn for the ‘real’ thing again. If anything I’ve let it down by being a cheapskate on the cover! Am I getting tired of the BOSS Katana’s non-valve tone? It’s a BOSS compact pedal in amp form, or in other words, the best reliability there is.

BOSS KATANA 50 MK1 FULL

We have a full set of protective corners and no protrusions to knock off.

boss katana 50 mk1

Controls-wise, it’s indestructible, nothing’s ever going to fall off or fail. The handle will never come loose (unlike my vastly more expensive Cornford). I’ve absolute faith in the electronics, I’ll never need to worry about valves. But the point is, this is a VERY inexpensive amp, so a £20 cover doesn’t seem worth it. My BOSS Katana 50 already has a few nicks and scrapes, which could have easily been prevented had I invested in a cover.

boss katana 50 mk1

Nothing more than a thin layer of paint really. It’s very light and the cabinet’s covering is very thin.

boss katana 50 mk1

Is it still the best guitar-related purchase I’ve ever made? Is the legendary BOSS reliability holding up? Since my original BOSS Katana 50 Review, I’ve been gigging the Boss Katana 50 for a few months now.










Boss katana 50 mk1